Home / Blog / Faculty Women’s Forum announces 2023 award winners

Faculty Women’s Forum announces 2023 award winners

May 31, 2023May 31, 2023

The Faculty Women's Forum recognizes 17 faculty members and one staffer for outstanding work supporting women at Stanford through role modeling, allyship, leadership, and sponsorship.

The Faculty Women's Forum (FWF) presented its 2023 awards at a ceremony Monday afternoon. These awards honor individuals for their outstanding work supporting women at Stanford through role modeling, allyship, leadership, and sponsorship.

Provost Persis Drell and Vice Provost and Dean of Research Kathryn Moler are recipients of the Deborah Rhode Lifetime Achievement Award. (Image credit: Andrew Brodhead)

The forum, which is affiliated with the Office of Faculty Development, Diversity and Engagement, provides opportunities for faculty members to discuss shared interests, concerns, and ideas, and to engage in action promoting greater faculty equity, inclusion, and success. Its programs are open to all faculty members, regardless of gender identity.

The forum's steering committee reviewed nominations from the Stanford community and selected 18 winners in five categories: Inspiring Early Academic Career, Allyship, Outstanding Sponsor, Outstanding Leader, the Deborah Rhode Lifetime Achievement Award, and the Carol Muller Outstanding Service Award.

"We are extremely excited to recognize faculty and staff that have gone above and beyond to make an impact on our community," said Anne Joseph O’Connell, the co-chair of FWF and the Adelbert H. Sweet Professor of Law.

"The nominations that we received this year were absolutely outstanding," said Debbie Senesky, who served as the lead for this year's awards. Senesky is an associate professor of aeronautics and astronautics and a senior fellow at the Precourt Institute for Energy.

The Lifetime Achievement Award was named in honor of Deborah Rhode, the late Ernest W. McFarland Professor in Law and director of the Center on the Legal Profession at Stanford Law School. Rhode was a former co-chair of the Faculty Women's Forum Steering Committee and was a pathbreaking and world-renowned scholar, teacher, and advocate in the fields of legal ethics, access to justice, gender and the profession, and leadership.

The Outstanding Service Award was named in honor of Carol B. Muller, former executive director of Stanford Wise Ventures, a 2012-2021 initiative designed to support and advance greater gender equity for individuals working in science, technology, and engineering fields at the university.

Both O’Connell and Senesky were impressed by the number of submissions from across the university.

"It was great to see students and postdoctoral researchers stepping up to submit award nominations," Senesky said.

Here are the recipients of the fourth annual awards:

This award recognizes an assistant professor who creates a culture of inclusion and belonging for students and trainees at all levels.

Recognizes a faculty member who leads a Stanford department, school, or independent laboratory, center, or institute, who has an outstanding record of developing a culture of inclusion and promotion of women faculty.

This award recognizes a faculty member with a strong track record of promoting and sponsoring women faculty members and/or faculty from groups historically underrepresented at Stanford.

Named after retired executive director of Stanford WISE Ventures, this award recognizes a staff person who has made significant contributions in service to gender equity at Stanford.

Named after an amazing and fierce advocate for gender equity in the academy, this award honors Professor Rhode's legacy by recognizing individuals who have dedicated their careers and used their influence to advance the status of academic women at Stanford.

Male authors of biomedical research papers are named as inventors on patents more frequently than female authors, according to a study by a team of law and medical students.

Matteo Cargnello talks about turning greenhouse gases into useful chemicals in this episode of The Future of Everything.

Often it's not rising seas, but sinking land due to human activities that puts coastal populations at risk.

Patricia Alessandrini Rabia Belt Usha Iyer Irene Lo Lisa Goldman Rosas Ashley Elizabeth Martin Petra Persson Molly Schumer Gabrielle Wong-Parodi Melissa Bondy Risa Wechsler Joseph Woo Arden Morris Upinder "Upi" Singh Shirin Sinnar Cathy Garzio Persis Drell Kathryn "Kam" Moler